SA fashion week highlights : Lameez Claasen

Lameez Classen presented a beautifu and trend conscious, collection at SA Fashion Week. Her use of cuts out detail, sheer fabrics, delicious ice cream tones and stand out collars caught the attention of journalists and buyers alike.
I asked Lameez to give Gaschette a peek in to what makes her shine.

What is your current  obsession:

My current obsession is 50’s style pastel Smeg fridges.I came across a pastel beauty  not too long ago and I think its safe to say I have been smitten ever since ❤ 
What do you love the most about what you do?Hmmmmmm… What I love the most about what I do is  the fact that I get to be inspired over and over again, its utter bliss. I am also always just left in awe by the whole design process, the fact designers are able create amazing garments from nothing. 

Who inspires you?

I am really inspired by my mom ❤ she is my pillar of strength, my harshest critic & my biggest fan. This may sound like a bit of a cliché’,but I wouldn’t be who & where I am without her .

What are you listening to right now:

It seems as though my heart is torn between  two amazing artists at the mo, Lykke Li & Zee Avi. Soft, pretty music is my bliss.

What is the foundation of your  brand:
My brand is all about creating unique ,sustainable & minimalistic pieces, whilst at the same time incorporating hints of shape and twists of dramatization.
What inspired your latest collection:
My collection was strongly influenced by optimism. By using pastels,nudes & candy coated colours I was able to encapsulate the essence of femininity by incorporating soft sheer fabrics ,structured mediums and predominantly feminine silhouettes. Through this I was able to create a cohesive range that portrays light-hearted hope in troubling times.
What was the  highlight of being  part of the SAFW  experience:

Being a part of SAFW ,not once, but twice was such amazing experience. Being a newbie to the industry it is such an honour to showcase collections at such an established platform. The highlight of the whole experience is that  so many amazing doors have been opened for me within the SA design sector and I am so grateful for having been given the opportunity to showcase my collections.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?:

In 5 years I  would like see myself as a well established innovative South African Designer.



Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “SA fashion week highlights : Lameez Claasen

  1. Julie says:

    LAM is really an inspiration, a free spirit and a talented designer. LAM you inspire me because with hard work and sacrifice dreams do come true and you’ve proved it with your never say die attitude!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Yes,as they say you are reaping your harvest because of all the hard work you have put in.keep up the good work.

    • Zubeida says:

      I agree Lameez is a real inspiration, she is a self motivated talented young lady who never looses sight of her ultimate goal. She has very high standards & always delivers excellent results but I have to agree with this range she’s out done herself my pride & joy!

Leave a Reply

